Promise Me A Million Times

13532793_282862128729886_2810566992460280896_nPromise Me A Million Times

AUTHOR: Keshav Aneel

GENRE: Romance

PUBLISHED: August 2016

BLURB:

Believing life always gives us all a second chance is too bookish.Because sometimes, when we finally know our faults, the times acutely change from what they once used to be.

Like a couple of migratory birds, both Charlie and Edwin leave everything back in their village and settle for a new life in a big city. For Edwin, it was where he was going to chase his dreams, but for Charlie, it was just another place to be with his only friend. However, when he meets Aster, who was silently walking through instabilities of her own destiny, he was in for an absolute unthoughtful phase of profoundness that was going to last forever.

REVIEW:

RATING: 4.5/5

I am, usually, reluctant to pick up a love story and even more if it is an Indian author. But this one has changed my view on romance Indian writers.  It is different from other love stories out there in the Indian market which is full of cliches. The book does have a little of the ‘rich girl and poor guy’ thing going on. It’s good that the story doesn’t focus a lot on it.

Charlie doesn’t have an extraordinary story but his character is depicted so well it makes you cheer his on and also smack him for his stupidity. As for Aster, there’s something about the name that makes you fall in love with her. As if that wasn’t enough, Love pours out of each word in the book. I was in tears when I finished it…

Dear Aster,
One fine morning, I will get up to notice my face in wrinkles and furrows. My hair will be scattered all over the pillow; most of them will be grey without a doubt. The spring of youth will have made way for my final years, and I’ll no longer be able to walk swiftly. My voice will tremble as a result of impairment; it will get hard for me to read words and things will get no better until I close my eyes forever.
         I’ll spend every minute terrorized, unwilling to end this beautiful journey of being in this world. However, I’ll cheerfully accept this truth of life, if you hold my hand, and promise to walk with me, until we breathe. Because no matter how ugly both of us look seventy years or a million years from now, I’ll take you in my arms with the same devotion that I’ll do it for the very first time.
Charlie.

The book is less than 200 pages. You can finish it in a day!  Go read it!

 

Leave a Reply

